I’m alive!

It’s been a bit, hasn’t it?

My bad, my bad. Life was a sudden flurry of language classes with all their trappings and trimmings, and dare I say, I got trapped! All of that busy-ness was in the midst of experiencing the holiday season in a foreign land, and feeling a bit glum that it didn’t feel so much like the holidays :/ (For those who don’t know, Christmas in Korea is basically Valentine’s Day #2.)

Speaking of “foreign” holidays (and coupledom), Happy White Day! Okay, actually, maybe this is Valentine’s Day #2. In Korea, and I think in Japan as well, Valentine’s Day is for girls to give chocolates, and White Day a month later is for guys to return the favor. I slightly suspect this may be the reason that I didn’t see too many candy sales after February 14th… they were all waiting for their March opportunity to sell their leftover chocolates and stuffed animals! So now I will be hoping ^^

Sadly, because of White Day, I forgot it was Pi Day!!! I kind of can’t believe myself, even though there is no real reason why I should remember Pi Day. It is neither nationally nor personally significant, but… I just love pastry so much! How could I forget a Pi(e) Day?!? Luckily, logging into WordPress tonight highlighted a celebratory post (I admit, I was drawn in by the picture first) and reminded me of all that I am missing, and to make up for my sweet tooth memory lapse, I have tentatively resolved to have a week of pie!

Yes, that may not actually happen, but I have commenced daily life activities again! My language classes ended a few weeks ago, and since then I’ve been jogging, cleaning and even baking! Today I made persimmon pudding – my second time, generally following the same recipe from the Culinate website (which I adore!). Not exactly the same as the first time, but it turned out fine, and I would encourage anyone who likes baking to give it a try.

Anyway, I just wanted to give a little public “hello” along with a brief update. I have a conference coming up the very beginning of April, the 2nd-3rd, which I need to prepare for! My beautiful friend from Hong Kong will be visiting around then, and I’m determined to show her the wonders of this little country. There are also a handful of deadlines coming about face tomorrow and Wednesday, and there is a official mini-dinner sponsored by our Fulbright Administrator this Friday. It never rains but it pours :) so I’ll be grabbing me buckets and hoping for a windfall! (Oh, and today officially marks my six-months-left period. It is on!!)

To whomever is reading this, you have probably been on my mind, as letters have long been on my to-do list. I hope everyone is well in all ways. And also, Japan! If you’re wary of Red Cross after some of their bad press came to light, MSF/Doctors without Borders might be a better alternative. Always good to think about where your money’s going ;)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lisa
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 11:25:57

    haha pi day! my housemate celebrated it with her kids and got some pies! it is so great commencing life activities isn’t it? what a good feeling. persimmon pudding sounds really delish!

    Reply

    • emcc
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 11:11:30

      i am a year late but :x YEAH PIE. lately i’ve been craving it more than i ever have – i will stock it up as due to no pumpkin or apple accomplices during the whole holiday season. must make sure to celebrate properly come march 14th.

      and you must try persimmon pudding!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

